What about a TresCom Town? (Abandoned)

No Longer Active! - The first TresCom Community Project - restoring and rebuilding the original game.

Moderators: tatu, scallenger, Rebel, Wajas

User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

I'm glad to see this idea back on track. I think Imma boot up blender soon and make a house for this. Tatu, do you want me to send you my model when its done, or you Draco? because I know you want to do this for reloaded as well.
User avatar
tatu
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
Posts: 4942
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by tatu »

Sure, but send it as a .3ds format. File->Export and then as a .3ds file.
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PL-SUM.

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."
User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

Okay, also is it okay if its one solid object?

Gah! I just finished it and then it disappeared. D:
User avatar
tatu
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
Posts: 4942
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by tatu »

Yeah thats alright :)
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PL-SUM.

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."
User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

My WIP house for this project:
Image

It also has a roof and I'll be working on static doors and windows today as long as time permits. Then, on to texturing.
User avatar
tatu
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
Posts: 4942
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by tatu »

If it's possible, try make the doors, windows and roof split objects and not in the house model
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PL-SUM.

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 13670
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by Draconisaurus »

I'm no longer going to spearhead Tres Reloaded I'm afraid :yum: I'll discuss the fate of that project later. So yeah, Nick's house etc. should go towards this and not a retail-mod project.
TBH, I'm not even sure if I'd have time to make a house for myself, in there. I might borrow a building from elsewhere, or who knows, maybe something from JPDS..
->Tres2020 Starter Kit

"Well, as long as you're under there, you can check the breakers," Thorne said. ... "There's a box right behind the front bumper. Over on the left."
"I see it." [said Sarah]
...
"The box is in backward. Flip all the switches the other way. Are you dry?"
"No, Doc. I'm soaking wet, lying in the damn mud."

~Michael Crichton
User avatar
tatu
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
Posts: 4942
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by tatu »

Right! You can also use a house or a building from Trespasser!
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PL-SUM.

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."
User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

tatu wrote:If it's possible, try make the doors, windows and roof split objects and not in the house model
I will try, they are all in different layers in my project file. Also, there are no interior doors because I didn't know if you could add physics to them.
User avatar
tatu
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
Posts: 4942
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by tatu »

makairu wrote:
tatu wrote:If it's possible, try make the doors, windows and roof split objects and not in the house model
I will try, they are all in different layers in my project file. Also, there are no interior doors because I didn't know if you could add physics to them.
I can add physics for them :)
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PL-SUM.

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."
User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

okay, But when I model the door do you want me to export it separately? that seems best since you would just be able to manipulate where it is in tresed.
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 13670
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by Draconisaurus »

Makairu, I don't know anything about how your export works, but as long as they are separate models (with their own names), it should work fine in a single export.
->Tres2020 Starter Kit

"Well, as long as you're under there, you can check the breakers," Thorne said. ... "There's a box right behind the front bumper. Over on the left."
"I see it." [said Sarah]
...
"The box is in backward. Flip all the switches the other way. Are you dry?"
"No, Doc. I'm soaking wet, lying in the damn mud."

~Michael Crichton
User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

Okay. also, I might end up giving it to you without textures at first, I can't really make any good ones and I'm having trouble finding decent ones that fit what im doing. Plus, I need to fix some of the normals.


I'll have the first in progress model to you soon Tatu, just to see how it works in-game and how it looks.
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 13670
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by Draconisaurus »

Hmmmmm. If textures are an issue, send it to me, that part shouldn't be hard for me. Though, if you could provide some example of the kind of textures you'd like it to have (or the actual textures), that would be preferable :yum:
->Tres2020 Starter Kit

"Well, as long as you're under there, you can check the breakers," Thorne said. ... "There's a box right behind the front bumper. Over on the left."
"I see it." [said Sarah]
...
"The box is in backward. Flip all the switches the other way. Are you dry?"
"No, Doc. I'm soaking wet, lying in the damn mud."

~Michael Crichton
User avatar
makairu
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 635
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 7:22 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Ohio, United States

Re: What about a TresCom Town? (Now In Progress, Feb 2010)

Post by makairu »

Alright, that sounds good. It just depends on how difficult I make it.
Post Reply