Remaing models to beta:

Released! - TresCom Ops' TC Act 2 Archive Forum.

Moderators: scallenger, Hilwo, Kovu

Locked
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Well, not exactly. I altered it to fit our needs. I'll upload a pic for you. As I mentioned above, these parts can be separate.
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

http://www.geocities.com/lastrebel41/keypad.bmp

Pad has numbers 0 thru 9, plus an entry key. (player must enter correct 5 digit passcode, then hit enter)
Remdul
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Holland, Europe

Post by Remdul »

Ah, nifty. :)

I'll get this thing done in 10 min or so. :)
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Neat. Not to bust your butt here, but I'd need that red switch box to complete the bunker computer system altogether.

(I know, I know... Rebel, you're a pain in my ass. :D )
Remdul
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Holland, Europe

Post by Remdul »

:thief:

Got the stuff here:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/bunkpanel.jpg

Zip:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/bunkpanel.zip

Includes gauge animated textures. No new palettes. :)

Ps, that hangar box; is it one of those high voltage switches that you have to pull down? Kinda hard to see in that bmp screen you uploaded. :cartman:
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Ps, that hangar box; is it one of those high voltage switches that you have to pull down? Kinda hard to see in that bmp screen you uploaded.
Yea, that's the item. It wasn't the picture that confused you, it was my horrible modelling skills. lol
Remdul
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Holland, Europe

Post by Remdul »

Wasn't that bad, just a bad viewing angle. ;)

Got stuff:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom ... switch.jpg

Zip:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom ... switch.zip

No new palettes. Added high voltage sign as bonus, but I'm not sure it seems entirely appropriate next to the box, but you may use it elsewhere. 8)

*Btw, you think the surveilance systems screens should be black/white instead of greenish? I think it would look better that way. If you agree and don't think its much trouble to replace the textures, I'll redo the textures' palettes...
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Cool stuff. ;)

Actually, I like the green on screen.... looks really cool. Also, it matches the button lightups which are green also.

Um, I'm having some trouble with the new bunker panel though. There seems be a a face anomaly which you can see in the uploaded screen pic.

http://www.geocities.com/lastrebel41/bunkpic.zip


If you don't mind, I was thinking of reversing the inlays (so that they'd protrude out), assign the newer gauge panel texture to the original bunker panel, then just place the inlays and indicators onto the bunker panel in lieu of the upload. Unless, of course, you can figure out what that problem is and repair it?
Remdul
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Holland, Europe

Post by Remdul »

Hmm, strange. I'll check on my model, maybe some faces are a bit messed up. Long and narrow triangles are known to be problematic in 3d renderers.

Well if you think the green screens look ok we'll keep it. :)

* http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/bunkfix.zip

That might do it. I couldn't see it clearly in the screenshot, but it seems those triangles became invisible? Or is it just the color? In that case it may have to do with mipmapping if the normals are a bit off.

* Fixed url :batman:
Last edited by Remdul on Tue Oct 05, 2004 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Well, it seemed as you said; those tight triangles somehow showed their faces at a distance -- I even tried to cache the object, no change.

I'll check out the repair. :)

*yea, like the green.

** We have a 404 on the link. (Never mind, the 'trescom' was omitted from address)
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Nope. Same problem, just different triangles. Want me to try it out my way? Or you could. Just the slots, protruding instead of recessing. Keep it a separate model from the panel itself.
Remdul
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Holland, Europe

Post by Remdul »

Try this one:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/bunkfix2.zip

Replaced the many tiny triangles by a few bigger ones. This method is known to be a quick, sloppy way of reducing polygon count as it may leave seams here'n there, but I think it will work fine in this case. If not, we'll call Mulder and Scully and I'll re-model it like you suggested. :yes: Weird stuff.
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Now that you mention it, I miss the X-Files. :(


Yea, it worked. Crazy stuff, for sure.
User avatar
Rebel
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 6193
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Contact:

Post by Rebel »

Remdul, got another alteration that I need from you. The circuit box you supplied me with is aok for the computer room, but we need something where the face would be off, wires exposed for the hanger itself. (Needs to look dangerous ;) ) I uploaded a crappy pic of what I mean.... hope it's not much trouble for you. Even omit the handle parts -- we don't need them. Just a few thick wires coming out as if the box guts were in the process of being replaced.

http://www.geocities.com/lastrebel41/boxtype.bmp
Remdul
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
Posts: 1845
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Holland, Europe

Post by Remdul »

Got it:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/hangar_box2.jpg

I detached the front panel, it can open, or be taken away entirely, exposing the wires. Box, wires, switch panel are seperate models.

Zip:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/hangar_box2.zip

No new textures. :)
Locked