TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue May 24, 2022 10:40 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 26, 2017 2:32 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 13369
Location: Isla Sorna
Placing objects in TresEd around high-detail terrain gets complicated, the only fix being to go into Terrain Edit Mode while moving the instance. This means having to go in and out when fixing multiple objects, or dozens...

_________________
->Tres2020 Starter Kit

"Well, as long as you're under there, you can check the breakers," Thorne said. ... "There's a box right behind the front bumper. Over on the left."
"I see it." [said Sarah]
...
"The box is in backward. Flip all the switches the other way. Are you dry?"
"No, Doc. I'm soaking wet, lying in the damn mud."

~Michael Crichton


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 4:17 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 3823
Location: Canada, eh?
Draconisaurus wrote:
Placing objects in TresEd around high-detail terrain gets complicated, the only fix being to go into Terrain Edit Mode while moving the instance. This means having to go in and out when fixing multiple objects, or dozens...

And then you also run the risk of misclicking and damaging your terrain as well in the process.

_________________
Current Project: Cloning Facility | My Release Thread
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Nov 27, 2017 7:19 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4649
Location: Sweden
machf wrote:
tatu wrote:
I have a question. As I know Trespasser was reverse-engineered for ATX, would this be possible for TresEd too?
Is there any way to hack in a way for the TresEd to view the terrain by default in Terrain edit mode but without the possibility to edit it? And be able to select objects while in it? It would help a lot as the terrain don't show properly in normal view, specially not big ones, while it does in Terrain edit mode. Like locking TresEd in Terrain Edit mode but with the possibility to select and move objects?
Would this be possible? Like making a special exe only for this?

Anything is possible, but you need to find someone willing to do it...

Oh, and in Terrain Edit mode, the terrain isn't "smoothed out" while rendered, that's it, I'd say...


Could you take a look?

Probably. I guess Andres never got around to fix all the issues with that.

_________________
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PH2-IT (and experimental BE-IT).

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:13 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4649
Location: Sweden
Tips for modders: TresEd allows you to save objects in groups so you can later select that group if you want, which mean you can "organize" a level and it is quite helpful if you don't wanna reselect for example a whole building mesh by mesh if you wanna move it later and have the risk of missing something. This function can be found at "View->Show Named Selection..." and is really helpful. The groups you make are stored in a ".tresed" in the same folder as the level and uses the level name. :)

_________________
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PH2-IT (and experimental BE-IT).

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:34 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 13369
Location: Isla Sorna
..For example, if you import a building and want to be able to select just-the-building later, a named selection can let you do that without lots of selection hassal.

_________________
->Tres2020 Starter Kit

"Well, as long as you're under there, you can check the breakers," Thorne said. ... "There's a box right behind the front bumper. Over on the left."
"I see it." [said Sarah]
...
"The box is in backward. Flip all the switches the other way. Are you dry?"
"No, Doc. I'm soaking wet, lying in the damn mud."

~Michael Crichton


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:59 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4649
Location: Sweden
Future (probably never-will-happen) request: Look for the TPA files inside the TresEd folder instead of where the game is installed.

_________________
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PH2-IT (and experimental BE-IT).

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 6:44 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 5781
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
tatu wrote:
Future (probably never-will-happen) request: Look for the TPA files inside the TresEd folder instead of where the game is installed.


In the zip below, tatu. Make certain that the folder containing TresEd is labeled 'Tres_Ed'. I tried it on my desktop and C:\Tres_Ed and it worked fine. Just toss your tpas inside the editor's folder. The only catch is, is that if you're loading up a retail level, you have to select the grf and pid file after you select the swp. For stand_alone levels, that isn't necessary (you'd just select the swap file as normal) since all level files are in the same location -


Attachments:
File comment: TresEd_tatu
TresEd_tatu.zip [300.28 KiB]
Downloaded 459 times

_________________
TresCom Anthology _FINAL_CE Only (04/16/21):
https://www.trescom.org/download/tresco ... -act-i-iv/

tc_prequel walkthru: https://www.mediafire.com/file/8s0cspop ... u.txt/file

Trescom Anthology_Final_CE Only Patch 1.1: https://www.mediafire.com/file/9x78b3vl ... 1.zip/file
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:35 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 12225
Location: Lima, Peru
What's this? You hacked TresEd, or had Andres at some time made a custom version on request?

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 5:49 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 3823
Location: Canada, eh?
I'm guessing he did some sort of hex-edit to redirect the folders. Or he rebuilt TresEd from scratch with the intention to add a bunch of new features? :P

_________________
Current Project: Cloning Facility | My Release Thread
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:40 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4649
Location: Sweden
Rebel wrote:
tatu wrote:
Future (probably never-will-happen) request: Look for the TPA files inside the TresEd folder instead of where the game is installed.


In the zip below, tatu. Make certain that the folder containing TresEd is labeled 'Tres_Ed'. I tried it on my desktop and C:\Tres_Ed and it worked fine. Just toss your tpas inside the editor's folder. The only catch is, is that if you're loading up a retail level, you have to select the grf and pid file after you select the swp. For stand_alone levels, that isn't necessary (you'd just select the swap file as normal) since all level files are in the same location -


Oh thank you very much!

I ignore your instruction and put it in my "Level Editing" folder at "D:\Trespasser\Modding Suite\Level Editing". Put the TPAs there and it worked fine as well. I also didn't have to select the grf or pid. It work just like the "normal" TresEd. :D

THANK YOU!

_________________
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PH2-IT (and experimental BE-IT).

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:49 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 5781
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
tatu wrote:
I ignore your instruction . . . .


My ex-wife used to do the same thing (note the ex). :lol: Anyways, it's like T.I. surmized, it was nothing more than a little hex editing job. Unfortunately, without the actual code you really can't change TresEd in any substantial way. Glad it worked for you though, tatu, and you're welcome. ;)

_________________
TresCom Anthology _FINAL_CE Only (04/16/21):
https://www.trescom.org/download/tresco ... -act-i-iv/

tc_prequel walkthru: https://www.mediafire.com/file/8s0cspop ... u.txt/file

Trescom Anthology_Final_CE Only Patch 1.1: https://www.mediafire.com/file/9x78b3vl ... 1.zip/file


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:48 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 13369
Location: Isla Sorna
:O What, is it secretly TresEd's anniversary and there's a new editing... :|

_________________
->Tres2020 Starter Kit

"Well, as long as you're under there, you can check the breakers," Thorne said. ... "There's a box right behind the front bumper. Over on the left."
"I see it." [said Sarah]
...
"The box is in backward. Flip all the switches the other way. Are you dry?"
"No, Doc. I'm soaking wet, lying in the damn mud."

~Michael Crichton


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 12, 2021 12:59 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4649
Location: Sweden
Andres wrote:
About grouping. While TresEd doesn't do 'grouping' as such, it can do something very similar, which allows a number of objects to be moved as a group after selecting only one. This is done by using the ext_Model00 value, which behaves just like Model00, except that only TresEd uses it, and Trespasser will ignore it.

First you need to choose a model to be the 'master', this is the one that you will select in order to move the whole group. This can either be a normal object, or you could insert a new mesh using the Hacking menu and then change its TScript to some kind of object that does not show up in the game. Then list the members of the group as ext_Model00 objects. Here's an example TScript for the master object:

group MyNewObject = {
bool Visible = false
string ext_Model00 = "SomeModel"
string ext_Model01 = "SomeOtherModel"
}


I am gonna bump this as I never knew about this. This is super helpful. This can be added to something like a building to attach all physics and objects to it. It will be a bit of work but it can be super helpful to avoid messing up and missing something when moving it. It basically act like how $ objects does or magnets that are attached to an object!

_________________
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PH2-IT (and experimental BE-IT).

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 133 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group