Page 1 of 1

ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2021 10:02 pm
by Teromen
Can I edit the dinos inside the map with these variables? I tried adding the values as "bool ActSleep =300.000000" and "bool ActWakeup =300.000000" and it wont save the script. Any ideas how to add them?

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2021 11:02 pm
by machf
When you edit a t-script, you must hit the "update" button (or whatever it's labeled, I forget).

And the value for "Sleep" should always be larger than the one for "WakeUp", otherwise you'll have something like Schrödinger's cat, where the dino doesn't know if it's dead or alive... I mean, asleep or awake.

Wait... you're mixing up TWO different things. The values in question are floats, and have no "Act" at the beginning.

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 2:13 am
by Teromen
" float Sleep = 400.000000"
" float WakeUp = 300.000000"

Seems to work fine. I need to get better at understanding script.

Edit: I noticed my road needs to be split into smaller partitions for the A.I. to work properly. I was warned about this. I did split it up, but it needs to be in even smaller partitions.

Of note for future reference, I did a "convert to shippable scn" with GUIApp and the A.I. seems to work a lot better. Also the lag when you rotate the mouse side to side is completely gone(I'm using a lot of ground decoration layers). I'm curious if this will allow me to have a lot of vegetation without glitches... Have to find out. I've never tried the convert to shippable scn process before. I was worried it would break the map for editing purposes. But it doesn't seem to. I did get some errors when converting though. I need to figure out how to clean up my swp file. Its up to 100mb and its a small map. I think there is a lot of excess data. It's a work in progress. I know the map will never be truly done but I want it to play and look decent with minimal to no glitches. In future maps I will try to not add anything that isn't going to be used. I will just pick one file name and replace it instead of using new ones.

Edit: The error message is apparently because I need to import the texture for the key card terminal. PScrtyCrdRdrLGHT01t2.BMP. I'll fix that.

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 6:20 pm
by Draconisaurus
Of note for future reference, I did a "convert to shippable scn" with GUIApp and the A.I. seems to work a lot better. Also the lag when you rotate the mouse side to side is completely gone(I'm using a lot of ground decoration layers). I'm curious if this will allow me to have a lot of vegetation without glitches... Have to find out.
This is something I hadn't heard of. I can make a note of it somewhere. I wonder if any glitch past fan mods work better with this, such as Xibalba Falls with the overlapping transparency...?

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 7:33 pm
by tatu
And the value for "Sleep" should always be larger than the one for "WakeUp", otherwise you'll have something like Schrödinger's cat, where the dino doesn't know if it's dead or alive... I mean, asleep or awake.
That will explain why the AI in Isla Sorna might act a bit weird sometimes. I did set those to the same!
Of note for future reference, I did a "convert to shippable scn" with GUIApp and the A.I. seems to work a lot better. Also the lag when you rotate the mouse side to side is completely gone(I'm using a lot of ground decoration layers).
Well the SCN partitions allows the game to read the level better and more quickly. Exactly what it does and how it works, maybe machf could explain it much better!
I need to figure out how to clean up my swp file. Its up to 100mb and its a small map.
Check GeomAdd on how to use the "Update SWP" function. Basically export all objects in your level to get the textures in one folder. Then generate fresh .swp and .pid files with Shell Generator, and then use that function to import the texture from the folder you exported all objects to!
Edit: The error message is apparently because I need to import the texture for the key card terminal. PScrtyCrdRdrLGHT01t2.BMP. I'll fix that.
Worth noting is that GUIApp and GeomAdd will report these as missing even if you have it imported. machf found a workaround years ago that you could add the texture as a simple extra material (through TPM edit) to the object that uses it and the error will be gone. :)

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2021 11:56 pm
by Teromen
Thank you tatu. I'll try that and get back on here with the resulting size difference. It's time to do some optimizing.

Edit: 102mb original vs 29mb optimized.
Got rid of 73mb of wastefull junk. Quite the improvement I must say. Thanks for the advice. I'm about to add a bunch of vegetation and see how it performs. Will be a good test. It's a small map but last time I had a LOT of random vegetation and it glitched bad. So I'm gonna try again. See what happens.

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2021 3:14 am
by machf
Partitions are generated based on the terrain and the occlusions objects, IIRC. They define what can be seen (rendered, actually) from different parts of the level, and so can improve framerate (by reducing the calculations needed to render the scene).

Re: ActSleep and ActWakeup

Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2021 4:38 am
by Teromen
I added a ton of plants and it runs great ;)
Redid my road as a ton of small partitions. Also works great. The road is 112 sheet meshes/decorations and I had to split it into 4 tpm files. Otherwise GeomAdd crashed and corrupted the level.
I set Sleep to 450 and WakeUp to 300. That's seems to work fine. The Dino's notice me at a reasonable distance on CE. Maybe 30-40 feet away they start approaching me.