Discuss the game Trespasser here!

Moderators: TresCom Support Team, TresCom Board Managers

JoelB
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg
Antispam: No

Real-time foley?

Post by JoelB »

I must say, ever since playing the demo I've been a fan of Trespasser - especially the audio. I remember a feature being toted as "real-time foley". When pushing or banging objects together it seems like it would almost always be a unique sound. Now, given the amount of, er, 'research' that's been done with the Trespasser source, do we have any sort of idea how the audio actually worked?

I've been trying to think about what the 'real-time foley' was, and how they did it. If I were to do it (and I'm no audio programmer), I'd create some fairly long looping noises for basic materials - metal, cement, grass, etc. Then, depending on the materials being used in the collision, pick the two corresponding sounds and pick a random point in each loop, and start playing them, so long as the collision was occurring. This would work fine for pushing two objects across each other, but it still wouldn't really explain the sounds when two objects have a brief collision.

How much do we know about Trespasser's audio, and has there been much digging into how it worked? Was it really anything special, or am I looking through rose-colored glasses?
machf
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer

Re: Real-time foley?

Post by machf »

It takes more than that into account... there are other factors such as the force and speed.
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files
awesome24712
Pteranodon
Pteranodon

Post by awesome24712 »