TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Sun Apr 18, 2021 9:37 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 1:54 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
I haven't found the setting to fix it yet but I'm not gonna give up!

It seems like it either have to do with hardware mode or D3D. When i tried Trespasser's software render everything worked pretty good and when switching over to hardware rendering in Trespasser and then changing "Use D3D=1" to 0 it also works but then it also looks like software render again.

Tried East Dock in DxWnd and it works until the dilophosaurus teleports uphill, then it crashes.
Also had to try TresCom Ops levels with it, and it kinda works but the screen is offset to the left for some reason.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:33 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
Nice work. If you get it to work, please share the settings. It will be useful for the future as probably future OS might support vanilla Tres and ATX less. :)

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 23, 2020 3:42 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Huh. The objects that were stretching across the screen in your screenshot, were all models with normalmaps (bumpmapping equivalent). Normalmapped models, except in CE, are rendered in Software mode regardless. So I guess DxWind doesn't like software mode?

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:45 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Draconisaurus I hadn't changed anything so all models should have been with normalmaps, right?

But:
Look at this next entry, it's the kicker: Emulate 16bbp D3D8 backbuffer

When i enabled that, the game worked correctly in hardware rendering mode.
So i tried East Dock in Twilight and hardware mode, and it didn't crash when the dilophosaurus teleported.

Also had to change SVGA to HDMI to use 1920x1080 resolution and Desktop Center to fix the last few things like screen is offset.
I'm gonna toy with around with the aspect ratio options and see what happens, as currently it also scales the main menu.

So now everything seems to be fine when using DxWnd.

I'll included photos here of my settings that worked.
Sorry that I photo my screen so often, but I'm usually in a hurry.
Look for red marker and arrows.

Spoiler: show
Attachment:
IMG_3678 - 2.JPG
IMG_3678 - 2.JPG [ 251.62 KiB | Viewed 1258 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_3679 - 2.JPG
IMG_3679 - 2.JPG [ 194.59 KiB | Viewed 1258 times ]

Attachment:
IMG_3680 - 2.JPG
IMG_3680 - 2.JPG [ 227.28 KiB | Viewed 1258 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2020 3:27 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Oye so many options. Congrats on getting EastDock to work via graphics card options... Lots of people had the level crash when the Dilo tleported, back in the day. Also, on my old widescreen in 2009-10, the Tres menu was stretched to fit the widescreen dimension... For that reason, I designed the Trespasser Twilight menu screen to be "normal" when stretched to that ratio. Sadly in recent years, Trespasser's menu doesn't seem to be stretched anymore, in fact in CE it shrinks to not even take up the whole screen in either width or length.

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:08 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Before I created this thread, when everything worked like it had done before, most Tres stuff was relatively stable for me.
For example, East Dock would only crash if I was flapping my arm around too much or moving the camera too much, the dilo teleporting never crashed it.

With dgVoodoo 2 both software and hardware render also worked without a hitch even with ED, but it meant no HUD which of course is fine for that level.

With DxWnd all ATX features works, including HUD and it seems stable with most levels with both software and hardware render.
As I said only ED, of the levels I have tested crashes in software render when dilo teleports, might be some hack/fix in DxWnd to fix that.
Otherwise one can use dgVoodoo instead, if one would like to use software render.

One other note on DxWnd is that you may need to enable "Acquire admin caps" in the "Main" tab to run vanilla Trespasser.

I have to say that when experimenting and switching back and forth have really increased my liking of Trespasser's software render mode.
It has quite a nice atmosphere and it somehow looks kinda right, still the noticeable pixels and the bad looking water streams and lighting does not help it at all.
Hardware render is still my favorite though but it is not such a big leap as i used to think, I mean hardware mode in CE almost makes Tres look like 2005-2010 instead of 1998.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:52 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Damn.

Why dear lord, why!

I went a couple of months without playing Trespasser and now trouble again...

So i run ATX Trespasser thru DxWnd and all is good, but when switching to hardware rendering, Ann starts to spin and her arm i drawn downwards like to a powerful magnet.
I can get her to look up briefly by moving her arm upwards bit is is then moved down again.

Any suggestions?
Has this happened to anyone else in any version of Trespasser?

I haven't changed any settings in DxWnd since using it successfully last time, nor have I changed anything in Trespasser.

All i wanted to do was to play Trespasser in ATX and hardware rendering, is that too much to ask for...
I mean that was why i tried DxWnd in the first place and manged to get it working.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 3:19 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 12154
Location: Lima, Peru
Never heard of this happening before...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 3:35 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
Unsure if this could help, but this does fix the issue with the graphic option menu not working properly in ATX and retail:

1. Download this: https://github.com/narzoul/DDrawCompat/ ... tag/v0.2.1
2. Put the ddraw.dll in your base folder (where the exe is).
3. If using ATX, either delete "ATXconfig.ini" or make sure "ObjectClarityDrawDistance" is set to "0" in the .ini, that should resolve crashes Draco and Mike experienced with using this .dll.

In any case, this will fix the issue where the graphic option gets split in two screens and become all purple. :)

Testing this on latest Windows 10 without any other programs or properties settings.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 5:54 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
That is really bizarre. Never heard of a physics glitch from external settings. I wonder if some new thing has an "AI sense" to manipulate game settings and works oddly with an old game like Trespasser.

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 5:59 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Yea... I'm an idiot.

I didn't notice i was actually changing between software and hardware rendering mode.
The only thing i did notice was Ann spinning and the arm being drawn into the ground.

Whenever I change between the two rendering modes i just have to restart the game and all work as intended,

So there were no problem just a foolish man. :|

Thanks for the help though!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 8:16 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 12154
Location: Lima, Peru
So, you were switching video modes in the midst of gameplay, then...?

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 18, 2020 10:04 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Yes but also when i started the game up, so the issue was happening when i both changed it in-game and before I had started a level.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sir Richard Of Google and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group