TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Thu Apr 22, 2021 3:31 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:51 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Hi all!

So i was going to start a new playthrough of original Trespasser on Twilight (i like jumping raptors :) ), haven't played Trespasser for a little while and when i tried starting it up only half of the screen was visible. Even on old previously working "mods" had the same problem.

Anyone know what the problem may be?

Regards
Matthew


Attachments:
TresTwi.jpg
TresTwi.jpg [ 55.76 KiB | Viewed 2293 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:57 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Welcome, to Jurassic Virus...

Ouch I couldn't say... Hopefully someone has an answer.

And Yes jumping raptors are awesome. 8)

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:03 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 3507
Location: Canada, eh?
Welcome to the site! :)

Have you tried ticking the "Disable Full-Screen Optimizations" box under the .exe file's properties? I know Windows 10 can be kind of sketchy with older games and mess up their resolutions.

_________________
Current Project: Cloning Facility | My Release Thread
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:36 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Draconisaurus wrote:
Welcome, to Jurassic Virus...

I see what you did there, that's very funny :lol:

Actually TheIdiot I'm still running Windows 7 on my gaming computer.
I think I haven't played Trespasser since before I hooked up 2 screens to this computer, are there any known instances where there have been problems when using 2 screens?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 12:53 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 5756
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
I actually had this problem when I had 2 screens hooked up a few years back. I couldn't solve it, I eventually just went back to the one screen. So yeah, I think it is a 2 screen problem -

_________________
TresCom Anthology _FINAL_CE Only (04/16/21):
https://www.trescom.org/download/tresco ... -act-i-iv/

tc_prequel walkthru: https://www.mediafire.com/file/8s0cspop ... u.txt/file


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:20 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4428
Location: Sweden
I'm with Rebel on this one. While I've run Trespasser with two monitors, it was with the CE patch. I've never tried it with ATX but it is very possible that is the issue as there are many older games that don't work if you have two monitors unless you play in Window mode.

_________________
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna - Working on PH2-IT (and experimental BE-IT).

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:43 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
Yea CE works for me as well. I tried "Windows key + P" selected "Computer only", that made Twilight/ATX crash immediately upon startup.
Also tried changing Windowed mode to on in the ATX ini, but that didn't work. I got half screen again, so i don't know if i did something wrong or if I just got the same result.

Lastly I tried to run it inside a virtual machine with XP SP3, there everything worked until i loaded a level. It crashed when it was almost done loading...

So i guess I have to run CE or physically disconnect the second screen?


Last edited by RavingRaptor on Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:29 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 12156
Location: Lima, Peru
I have two monitors but I have no problems. But then, I have the game configured to run on a single one only.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 11:56 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
machf wrote:
I have two monitors but I have no problems. But then, I have the game configured to run on a single one only.

How did you do that machf?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 3:07 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 12156
Location: Lima, Peru
This is my Tpass.ini file from the demo (registry entries for the retail are the same):
Code:
[Settings]
Safemode=0
DDrawCertIgnore=1
Auto Settings=1
RenderQuality=4
Width=1920
Height=1080
AutoLoad Temp=0
PlaySFX=-1
PlayAmbient=0
PlayVoiceOver=-1
PlayMusic=0
UseSubTitles=-1
AudioEnable3D=-1
XView=0
YView=0
Gamma=9
Registry Init=1
Max Recommended Tex Dim=256
Use D3D=1
Video GUID=0000000000000000000000000000000000
D3D GUID=E03DE684AA46CF11816F0000C020156EAA
Video Driver=Controlador de pantalla primaria (display)
Z Buffer Bitdepth=32
Hardware Water=1
Page Managed=0
Triple Buffer=0
Dither=0
MasterVolume=100


Other than that, I've never tweaked any settings. Just selected the proper video adapter at installation/configuration time. (And yes, this is under Windows 7 too.)

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:10 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
I'm betting that won't work for everyone, just saying.

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:35 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
I checked my .ini and it looked similar at the settings i suspect matter. So before changing I backed up my .ini and just booted up Twilight because (before i did any adjustments), but now it crashes immediately (A fatal error has been detected. Press OK to exit) every time.

I have changed everything back to the way it was when I got half a screen, but it still crashes.

After that I unplugged my second screen and rebooted my computer, yet it still crashes. I'm starting to think it is something else that's messing up, but I have no idea what to begin checking...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 6:00 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Duh. My advice: disconnect the second monitor, uninstall Tres, then reinstall the whole thing from scratch. Remember to copy the CD contents and install without the disc in the drive.

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 7:30 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 6:41 pm
Posts: 51
So did as you advised Draconisaurus, uninstalled it and even deleted the folder, did a fresh install from hard drive.
But nope, even vanilla Trespasser just flashes a couple of times and then the fatal error message comes up.
Millennium CE works perfect, but vanilla, Millennium ATX and Twilight all does the same thing.

Everything has worked on this computer with the current installation of Windows 7 so i don't get this.

By the way aren't Twilight a stand alone mod so it shouldn't matter if Trespasser is installed or not?

Is there anything useful i can get out of the error.log?


Last edited by RavingRaptor on Mon Apr 06, 2020 8:28 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2020 12:43 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Duhhh. Not fun. Maybe delete the retail Trespasser registry? I'm not sure...

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sir Richard Of Google and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group