TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:25 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:37 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:29 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Tel Aviv
Is there anyway to play the game without the CD? i just recently got a 1999 Pentium3 PC but it's diving me nuts having to load the CD everytime and like all old CD Drives of that time, the damn thing keeps getting stuck when trying to open it. I could make a ISO and load it with PowerISO, but i am also running out of HDD and i rather not keep both the Full Game install plus the ISO file just to play.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:19 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 5753
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Why, certainly (as 1 of the 3 stooges used to say). Copy the cd in its entirety (including hidden files) onto your harddrive, remove cd and then install from the folder you copied the cd contents into it. I think there's a more elaborate (or detailed) explanation for doing this in the FAQ section.

Welcome to trescom.

_________________
TresCom Anthology _FINAL_CE Only (04/16/21):
https://www.trescom.org/download/tresco ... -act-i-iv/

tc_prequel walkthru: https://www.mediafire.com/file/8s0cspop ... u.txt/file


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:22 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
Welcome to TresCom!

What Rebel said is the only way to play without the CD, which basically would be the same way to make an iso out of the disc as you require most of the files on the CD to play.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 6:31 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Welcome to Trespassic Parker. :statue:

As they said, copy the CD contents... You could put it on a USB drive if you want. They are really cheap.

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2019 6:40 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
Draconisaurus wrote:
As they said, copy the CD contents... You could put it on a USB drive if you want. They are really cheap.


Cheap yes, but a lot of today's USB won't work on old PCs with old OS as old OS systems can't detect drivers for it by itself (that is why everything came with driver discs back in the day) :P

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:11 pm 
Offline
Dilophosaurus
Dilophosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 7:06 pm
Posts: 2353
Make sure that you remove the CD from your drive after copying the contents and before installing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2019 5:26 pm 
Offline
Triceratops
Triceratops

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:16 pm
Posts: 78
Depending on the video card you might not get bump mapping. When using the original executables I think bump mapping was done by the cpu. When using the newer trespasser CE I think bump mapping is done with the GPU if possible. If not possible then limited or no bump mapping. You could run the game using software mode for video but I am not sure if that includes bump mapping and it might slow the game considerably.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 2:08 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
tedmg09130913 wrote:
Depending on the video card you might not get bump mapping. When using the original executables I think bump mapping was done by the cpu. When using the newer trespasser CE I think bump mapping is done with the GPU if possible. If not possible then limited or no bump mapping. You could run the game using software mode for video but I am not sure if that includes bump mapping and it might slow the game considerably.


IIRC bumpmaping was written for software mode and only works in software mode (at least properly). CE support hardware bumpmapping but it works different from how the original game does it.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:44 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 6:29 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Tel Aviv
Thank you all! i had been waiting for an email for any replies and it turns out hotmail sent TresCom emails to the Junk bin... that's fixed now. I will try as suggested by some of you. I guess it's better than having to use the CD or the ISO plus the Full Install.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 7:09 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 12154
Location: Lima, Peru
It's possible you may need to uninstall the game first before copying the contents of the CD to the HDD and then remove the CD before installing from the HDD.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:55 am 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 10:32 pm
Posts: 2095
Location: Ontario, Canada
I think an HDD install is needlessly complicated, all you need to do is copy the data folder's contents from the CD to the data folder in the Trespasser's demo and copy the TPA files.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:55 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
Nick3069 wrote:
I think an HDD install is needlessly complicated, all you need to do is copy the data folder's contents from the CD to the data folder in the Trespasser's demo and copy the TPA files.


I agree. This is easiest and most simple way.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 16, 2019 9:53 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12901
Location: Portland, OR
Huh well for us it seems that way. I feel like a newbie to Trespasser might find it easier to not try selecting and copying individual files. Also for some reason it is sometimes difficult to get CE to work with the demo.

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 12:27 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:35 am
Posts: 1
Is it possible to make an ISO image of the CD and mount it using something like Daemon Tools?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Play with no CD?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 3:05 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4427
Location: Sweden
Mookis wrote:
Is it possible to make an ISO image of the CD and mount it using something like Daemon Tools?


Yes. The game have no copy protection (DRM) so you can easily do that. :)

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group