TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:36 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:38 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 16
what was the best CPU to run Trespasser (CPU before year 1999) i think it is like P2 450 vs k6-2. in all other games is the P2 processor, the fastest. but the K6-2 suport "3D now" and homepage about 3D now (K6-2) says:

"At the K6-2 launch, AMD listed a dozen DirectX-based
games that are currently available, including Incoming, Ares
Rising, and Team Apache. Conspicuously missing were
Quake II, the most popular 3D game, and Trespasser, which
the company frequently points to as one of the best games
for the K6-2. These games should both be available with
3DNow this summer. In addition to DX6 support, AMD has
developed 3DNow-enhanced routines for OpenGL and
Glide, the other popular 3D APIs. The company expects
hundreds of enhanced titles to be available by Christmas."

But i really dont know about Trespasser came to support the "3D now" ? please help :D (I'm building a PC to run trespasser, and all parts/Hardware MUST came from 1998. And i know even the voodoo2 SLI had problems with run the game. but thats why im using more powerfull graphic cards (but still 1998)).

_________________
Why GTX 690? Wehn i have my 3DFX cards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:31 pm 
Offline
Pteranodon
Pteranodon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 1:56 am
Posts: 887
Location: USA
Are you building this PC because you think that Trespasser needs such hardware, or is it just for nostalgia (considering the hardware is, by today's standards, low quality, and thus cheap)?

I wouldn't think that the processor has as much to do with it as the graphics card (and the graphics card wouldn't be a problem at all in software mode), and most problems you could encounter are easily fixable via ATX or just things already on Windows.

I can easily run Trespasser with a Windows 7 32-bit, Intel Core 2 E8200, with a nVidia 8400 GS 512MB graphics card, no problems. I've seen it run quite well on 64-bit installations as well.

I'm not sure what the "3D now" is, I've heard of it, however there's a chance that it was never fully implemented, and even if it was the faster CPU speeds of today would probably surpass the k6-2's benefits, especially when running in software mode (which retail-level wise is just as good as hardware mode, and it seems to crash less).

_________________
Check out the HL2 mod I'm helping with: Image
Visit my Steam! http://steamcommunity.com/id/awesome24712/
Visit my YouTube! http://www.youtube.com/user/awesome24712

Post benchamrks:
1 [x] 2 [x] 4 [x] 8 [x] 16 [x] 32 [x] 64 [x] 128 [x] 256 [x] 512 [x] 1024 [ ] 2048 [ ] 4096 [ ] 9192 [ ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:51 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 11927
Location: Lima, Peru
3D Now! is a set of instructions in the AMD processors' set that allow the CPU to perform graphics operations directly. With the advent of graphics cards with their own GPUs, this no longer is necessary, and AMD decided to drop it in 2010...

Maybe it makes AMD processors work better in software mode...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 3:26 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 8:35 pm
Posts: 3
I ran into some info that DirectX 6 was optimized for 3D now. So your choice is PII 450mhz with MMX or a K62 400 with 3D now. Personally, I would go with the K62 and overclock it. With some luck you might get it up to 450 or 475.

Back in the day I had a k62 350 (but I think in 1998 I was still using a 486 66mhz running win95)

I don't know if you already have a motherboard but toms hardware still has some reviews available to view from 1998. I had a motherboard with an Ali Aladdin V chipset...I recommend staying away from the Aladdin V. Only reason I say that is I had a terrible time finding a network card that would work with my motherboard. But, different motherboards might not have the comparability issues mine had. I should let you decide for yourself. Here are a few links for you to check out http://www.thg.ru/mainboard/19980731/print.html
http://jphale.tripod.com/overclock-k6-2.htm
http://www.weblearn.hs-bremen.de/risse/RST/SS99/P3_K6_3d/Intel-TechDocs/3ddirectx.htm

With the trespasser code it would interesting to see where the 3d now optimizations are if there are any. I'm thinking, since the game came with directx6 that they just used its compatibility with 3dnow as a selling point. But I'll probably never find out because I don't read code. I was also thinking maybe physics calculations would utilize some of the 3d now instructions. But I really have no clue.
interesting read http://www.pctechguide.com/amd-technology/amd-3dnow

Anyways....Thanks for the trip down memory lane :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 5:56 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 11:12 pm
Posts: 16
awesome24712 # :
I have many Win 7 32-64 bit computers, and it all runs trespasser great. But i have also MANY PC from year 1998. but not a 1998 Top Gamimg PC to run my lovely game. Trespasser was a HARD game for computers in 1998 and even in 1999. even a Voodoo2 SLI coud'nt handle it in "high" graphic. but I'm using a rarely Graphic card setup von 1998.

m0u53r #
and machf # :
Oh thanks, it was wery interesting. I think i wil Use the k6-2-400 :D i had bought a gaming dual slot 1, motherboard, to P2. but using NT4 and the fight about get DX6, and no multicore support in Trespasser, and your meassegs, made me think to use the K6:D I have a socket 7, motherboard to K6. and many K6 CPU's. but its is not Top gaming parts. as i will try to get a "Socket super 7"board to the K6 :D
Thanks for the help every body.

_________________
Why GTX 690? Wehn i have my 3DFX cards.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:21 am 
Offline
Albertosaurus
Albertosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 12:12 pm
Posts: 2197
Location: Australia
3Dnow allowed the AMD processors to perform complex math routines used typically in mathematics such as matrix calculations and the like directly on the CPU, this has been obsolete since graphics cards were produced with their own processors (since a graphics processor is roughly 100x faster than any CPU due to it being designed specifically to handle graphical calculations and the processing of video data such as vertex, triangle, pixel, texel and colour data.

If you want a PC that runs trespasser well, get an i7 Intel processor, since Trespasser uses D3D6, it doesn't use anything to do with the graphics through hardware, almost everything will be done by software,technically the D3D 'Hardware' option is Software with Hardware memory support thrown in really. To take advantage of the graphics processor the game would need to use Direct3D 8, 9, 10, 11 (10/11 are heavily intergrated with hardware support, as they require shaders).

_________________
~ They told me humans weren't real... I proved them wrong.
ImageAnthropology ~ A beautiful tale.
EpicZen
Carnivores Hub ~ Need the full games without all the hassle of torrents or viruses? Run on over to EpicZen's Carnivores Hub!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 10:14 am 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 am
Posts: 14
I prefer to play this game with k6-2 3D-NOW and Creative sb-live EAX


IN 1998

Trespasser just like Crysis



ps:maybe k7 athlon slot A

is best for trespasser?


Attachments:
tra.jpg
tra.jpg [ 400.49 KiB | Viewed 1097 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2020 7:44 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4176
Location: Sweden
I have no idea what the best CPU is best for Trespasser. It depends. If it is with the CE patch, it doesn't matter. :P
Trespasser comes with 3 different .exe depending on the CPU you had. :)

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:33 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 11927
Location: Lima, Peru
I t turns out it's AMD's fault that Trespasser was released in that state...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 11:46 am 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 am
Posts: 14
Can hardly find relevant tests

I mean 3Dnow for trspasser




ps:almost Quake2 for 3D-NOW! test



ps:i have gtx690 voodoo2(No sli) too

and voodoo3 3000 pci


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:00 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 am
Posts: 14
https://www.voodooalert.de/board/forum/ ... li-review/


Attachments:
Trespass450.jpg
Trespass450.jpg [ 84.65 KiB | Viewed 1072 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 12:01 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2020 8:44 am
Posts: 14
AND PENTIUM III 1100MHZ


Attachments:
Trespass1100.jpg
Trespass1100.jpg [ 86.61 KiB | Viewed 1072 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 6:39 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 12640
Location: Portland, OR
Interesting research. I'm afraid I don't pay enough attention to computer hardware to make much sense of it...

_________________
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box / Tres Machinema & Dinosaur Toy Films


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:34 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 4176
Location: Sweden
machf wrote:
I t turns out it's AMD's fault that Trespasser was released in that state...


I remember one of the devs saying that. AMD invested into Trespasser and put the release date.

Is those numbers on the left FPS? We can't even get near 60 FPS with vanilla Trespasser with modern PCs. :P

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2020 12:02 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 11927
Location: Lima, Peru
Well, look at the resolutions... and it may be some benchmark score, rather than FPS.

EDIT: the original article is here:
https://www.voodooalert.de/board/forum/ ... li-review/

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group