TresCom Forums
http://www.trescomforum.org/

How to use TPDinoCreator tool?
http://www.trescomforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=11676
Page 2 of 2

Author:  Tormer [ Fri Mar 26, 2021 11:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

TheIdiot wrote:
Is the axis orientation correct on your mesh in Max? If not, try orienting it to the world and using the "Reset X-Form" option.

I don't have Max. I use Blender to make TPM files. The problem is that Blender only has TPM exporter not importer (i don't know if someone has it over there) that's why i exported dinos in 3ds format.

Author:  tatu [ Fri Mar 26, 2021 8:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Tormer wrote:
TheIdiot wrote:
Is the axis orientation correct on your mesh in Max? If not, try orienting it to the world and using the "Reset X-Form" option.

I don't have Max. I use Blender to make TPM files. The problem is that Blender only has TPM exporter not importer (i don't know if someone has it over there) that's why i exported dinos in 3ds format.


There is no TPM importer for Blender. I'd recommend getting Gmax as it has the TPM scripts, at least to be used for the TPM files, then you can export/import between Blender and Gmax :)

Author:  Draconisaurus [ Sun Mar 28, 2021 4:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Oye, again I only skimmed, but one option might be to import a 3DS from Tres into Blender and then "fix" it, then do whatever and export it as TPM using the blender script.

Author:  Tormer [ Mon Mar 29, 2021 2:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Draconisaurus wrote:
Oye, again I only skimmed, but one option might be to import a 3DS from Tres into Blender and then "fix" it, then do whatever and export it as TPM using the blender script.

I did this with the Parasaurolophus but it appears very small in TPDC. When i export a 3ds dino from TresEd, it doesn't have the right size to match with the skeleton of dinosaur preset in TPDC. Is there a way to export 3ds dinos from Tresed with their in-game size?

Author:  tatu [ Mon Mar 29, 2021 2:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Tormer wrote:
Draconisaurus wrote:
Oye, again I only skimmed, but one option might be to import a 3DS from Tres into Blender and then "fix" it, then do whatever and export it as TPM using the blender script.

I did this with the Parasaurolophus but it appears very small in TPDC. When i export a 3ds dino from TresEd, it doesn't have the right size to match with the skeleton of dinosaur preset in TPDC. Is there a way to export 3ds dinos from Tresed with their in-game size?


No, you need to export a dinosaur as TPM in order for it to contain the bones properly. That is why exporting and importing dinosaurs through 3DS doesn't work in TresEd/GeomAdd either.

Author:  TrespasserGuy [ Wed Mar 31, 2021 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

So I'm just gonna hijack this thread for a bit because I don't want to create a similar one for the same topic :batman: . I've been looking at these tutorials, trying to rig a model for the game, but I can't seem to get it right.
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image


Idk if it has to do with me rigging the wrong vertices to the wrong bones, but on top is what the dino looks like ingame, and on the bottom is the view of it in TresEd. As you can see, the model ingame is a lot smaller than the one in TresEd. Idk if it has to do with me messing up the import or export scales. I legitimately have no clue. I used the Para template in TPDC btw.

Author:  machf [ Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:51 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Definitely some vertices have been assigned to the wrong bones. Just do some "cleanup" work.

Oh, and there's alimit to the number of vertices that can be assigned to the same bone, though TPDC doesn't warn you about it...

Author:  Tormer [ Thu Apr 01, 2021 8:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

machf wrote:
Definitely some vertices have been assigned to the wrong bones. Just do some "cleanup" work.

Oh, and there's alimit to the number of vertices that can be assigned to the same bone, though TPDC doesn't warn you about it...


This is interesting. What is the maximum number of vertices for the same bone?

Author:  machf [ Thu Apr 01, 2021 11:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

I think it is 200, numbered from 0 to 199.
I've always wondered if the introduction of "interpolated" bones in the Trespasser engine was motivated by this, so that you could assign the other vertices )over the 200 limit) to an interpolated bone.

On an unrelated note, I haven't tried JPH Legends (downloaded it yesterday), but from what I saw on Saurian Target's review, the "Site X" level looks like something that could be ported to Trespasser...

Author:  tatu [ Fri Apr 02, 2021 5:01 am ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

machf wrote:
On an unrelated note, I haven't tried JPH Legends (downloaded it yesterday), but from what I saw on Saurian Target's review, the "Site X" level looks like something that could be ported to Trespasser...


I always thought that it would be fun to port other games, or at least their levels into Trespasser. Specially older games if there is a way to export models and levels already. A lot of older games are really simple comparing to a Trespasser level!

Author:  Tormer [ Fri Apr 02, 2021 1:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Would be cool to see Site-X in Trespasser! i made that map as a survival one, facing hordes of dinosaurs and there are deadly traps too...
Coming back to TPDC, the arm position and other body parts of new dinos should fit 100% with the original Trespasser mesh?

Author:  machf [ Fri Apr 02, 2021 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: How to use TPDinoCreator tool?

Hmmm, I'd say no (the arms don't even move), but the overall shape should match, particularly the bone positions should match the body's joints.

In theory, it SHOULD be possible to move the bones around (since all skeletons are basically the same two ones, a biped and a quadruped one), but so far, we haven't been successful with that.

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/