TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Mon Dec 09, 2019 9:36 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 4:42 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11784
Location: Portland, OR
Soooo Tres does have options there. Find those start triggers and fiddle with the settings. Trespasser Millennium (see sig) has included the various sets of start triggers from all retail levels+, found in "Tres_Millennium\Shell Generator\Import_Base". Without going to look, IIRC clut is the min/max color-shade settings, which can be tweaked to disallow colors or otherwise generally bias the span of visible allowance. Also the AmbientLight can be set at various strengths.

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 3:40 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:37 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Czech Republic
Dah! :sick: So now I really do not know?
Image
Image

:?: Why is my model modeled and displayed correctly in the Editor, but in the game it changes size.?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 8:59 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 5444
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
I'm not the expert on modeling, but I'd say your model scale is off. When I model something, I generally
use an existing model so I can match the correct scale, or for instance, If I need to rescale a dinosaur or
other animal, I import an original model then either scale up or down to match the original. Then, delete
the original and export my own. That's how I get the scales right -


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:20 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 11548
Location: Lima, Peru
Melber wrote:
Dah! :sick: So now I really do not know?
Image
Image

:?: Why is my model modeled and displayed correctly in the Editor, but in the game it changes size.?

Let me guess: you attempted to replace an existing model in-game with your own model, using the same name. Well, in order for it to work properly, as Rebel may have already mentioned, it needs to be set to the same scale and have the same alignment as the original. From what I can tell, the $physics objects are in the proper place but the tree is rotated,right?

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:19 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11784
Location: Portland, OR
There is one other issue I'm pretty sure I'm seeing: the object is changing is overall shape as well? This happens with physics when the pivot is not centered on the object, which is required. Note that Max's center-pivot option does not fit this. Either find a way to manually adjust the vertices, or.. which 3D app are you using? There is a tres-dev max script which can do it. As well, one quick and dirty option is to create a random box, give it the location/orientation coords you want model-X to have, then via mesh editing you just attach model-X and then delete the mesh of the random box. That's how to do that in 3ds Max, at least.

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:29 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:37 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Czech Republic
Does it increase the space in the inventory by one place? :idea:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:14 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11784
Location: Portland, OR
So basically... You know how normally a stowed item is either placed on the hip or the back? This lets you have both at once. So, not all combinations of 2-stowed-items are possible, AND there's a key-press needed to use it which escapes me.

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 11:50 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 3826
Location: Sweden
Might wanna point out that Draco is talking about if you enable a function in the CE patch .ini file ;P

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."

"The main laboratory and administrative buildings. This is where we made our work, where the real magic trick happen. When they are in need of height fixing, they'll come here." - Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:40 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:37 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Czech Republic
Hello everybody. I tried to add to the Bumpmap to object but the editor and the game didn't show anything.
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

Code:
material "PC.mat01"
{
 colormap = "Map\TestScene\PC06-01.bmp"
 bumpmap = "Map\TestScene\PC06-01b.bmp"
}

How is it possible ? :?: :?: :?:


Last edited by Melber on Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:06 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 11548
Location: Lima, Peru
It's possible simply because GeomAdd never got support for adding bumpmaps to imported objects. The most you can do is replace an already existing bumpmap with SWPadd.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:14 am 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:37 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Czech Republic
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

And Trespasser CE will replace bumbmap with Normal map (inserted into / tex / folder)?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 5:00 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 11548
Location: Lima, Peru
I think that's how it works, yes. But I think you need to place there also the texture map, not just the normal map by itself.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 11:16 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 11784
Location: Portland, OR
Hey Melber, how's the mod coming?

_________________
Image
Image Image T-Script Reference / Trespasser Millennium / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:00 pm 
Offline
Stegosaurus
Stegosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 6:37 pm
Posts: 57
Location: Czech Republic
Draconisaurus wrote:
Hey Melber, how's the mod coming?

I have a new job. But I'm coming back home late in the evening. I am often tired, :oops: that's why I only work on projects on weekends. And that is little time. I still have a lot of work ahead. :arrow:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 10, 2019 3:52 am 
Offline
T-Rex
T-Rex
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 2909
Location: Canada, eh?
Melber wrote:
And Trespasser CE will replace bumbmap with Normal map (inserted into / tex / folder)?

Yes - you have to give it the extension ".norm.dds" and it should work fine. You can control specularity by making it more or less transparent as well. So if your texture is called "tdinosaur00t2.bmp", the texhw files would be "tdinosaur00t2.dds" and "tdinosaur00t2.norm.dds". I use .dds files as I find them to be the most flexible, but I think .tga and .bmp images work as well.

_________________
Image
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | Trespasser HD | My Release Thread | Level Reviews


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 78 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Sir Richard Of Google and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group