Plantation House Contest

Creating new content for Trespasser!

Moderators: TresCom Support Team, TresCom Board Managers, TresCom Developers

Bryankd2015
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Bryankd2015 »

I don't see that on any of them.. where do I add it in the value table?
User avatar
Shep
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:48 am
Location: Florida

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Shep »

Put it where this one is:

Code: Select all

ValueTable for instance 7501 "Sucho-01" :

group Sucho = {
    int ext_GeometryType = 1
    string Class = "CAnimal"
    string Type = "Raptor"
    int Dinosaur = 1
    int Archetype = 0
    int Team = 2
    float HitPoints = 1800.000000
    float ReallyDie = -100.000000
    float Regeneration = 3.000000
    float DieRate = 2.000000
    float CriticalHit = 500.000000
    int NumJoints = 21
    int NumDoubleJoints = 1
    int PVA = -2
    float Width = 3.000000
    float HeadReach = 4.000000
    float ClawReach = 2.800000
    float TailReach = 6.000000
    float JumpDistance = 2.000000
    float JumpUp = 1.000000
    float JumpDown = 2.000000
    float WalkUnder = 5.000000
    float WalkOver = -0.400000
    float JumpOver = 1.000000
    float CrouchUnder = 3.000000
    float MoveableMass = 0.800000
    string DetailShadow = "$SuchoSh"
    string Head = "$SuchoHead-00"
    string Body = "$SuchoBody-00"
    string Tail = "$SuchoTail-00"
    string SoundMaterial = "TREX-FOOT"
    bool MipMap = false
    float Diffuse = 0.900000
    float Specular = 1.250000
    float SpecularAngle = 16.000000
    float BiteTargetDistance = 8.000000
    bool ActBite = true
    bool ActEat = true
    bool ActNothing = true
    bool ActLookAround = true
    bool ActOuch = true
    bool ActHowl = true
    bool ActSnarl = true
    bool ActCroon = true
    bool ActPursue = true
    bool ActGetOut = true
    bool ActStayNear = true
    float Anger = 1.000000
    float Bravery = 0.700000
    float Hunger = 1.000000
    float WakeUp = 130.000000
    float Sleep = 200.000000
}
Oh, a Raptor got 'em!

Image
Bryankd2015
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Bryankd2015 »

ok.. well I did.. it gives me the effect.. however the dinos are not acting right.. so I am gonna go over the list here and see what all matches

EDIT : How many dinos can you have active at the same time? Right now on that level I am using 2 trikes, 1 alberta, 3 stegs, 2 raptors and 2 trex

is that too many?
User avatar
TheIdiot
T-Rex
T-Rex
Posts: 4345
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Location: Canada, eh?

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by TheIdiot »

ok.. well I did.. it gives me the effect.. however the dinos are not acting right.. so I am gonna go over the list here and see what all matches
What do you mean by "the dinos are not acting right"? There are literally so many things that can go wrong in Trespasser.
EDIT : How many dinos can you have active at the same time? Right now on that level I am using 2 trikes, 1 alberta, 3 stegs, 2 raptors and 2 trex
At the same time you can only have six "awake". However in ATX I was able to increase this to 8 without issue, but you have to edit the ATXConfig.ini. As long as those dinosaurs aren't all active at once it should be fine. I've had levels with 200+ and never run into any CAnimal-related issues so long as they aren't all crammed into one area.

Ah, and also, when editing instance values, there isn't any predefined order you have to put the values in (to my knowledge, at least). Just put them in wherever is most convenient to you.
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 14046
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Draconisaurus »

Also - be sure to set a "float Sleep = #.#" value. It should ideally be higher than the WakeUp value, so they don't sleep until after you go farther away than they wake up.

As a note - the dinos located around the "AnchorDinos" object should have working script already... At least, as working as they are in the retail levels they came from. Might want to avoid cloning the ones which have no "-##" after their name.

And, er-hem... The max active dinos amount in original Tres is, IIRC, 3 (with a 4th and 5th being potentially active but buggy). Increases to this number have come with more recent engines... Aaaaand the dino number in the level as a whole knows no bounds. NorthPoleChaos has.. uhh.. a lot :P (maybe around 100..)
User avatar
Shep
Parasaurolophus
Parasaurolophus
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 3:48 am
Location: Florida

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Shep »

Just a note,When I set max active dinos to 100 I noticed all the dinos seemed to be active in IT but when you get past the gate you will still hear the dino sounds but they will not move, it dounds like they are fighting but they just stand there.
Oh, a Raptor got 'em!

Image
Bryankd2015
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Bryankd2015 »

I will try to spread them out a bit so they are not all active at the same time. Such a small level and only so much room. I should be able to break them down to 2 groups of 3 and 1 group of two active at one time. What I mean here is a group of 3 will be active.. then basically sleep then you come across another 3 that are active, they sleep then another 2 are active.

The rest of the level is done.. outside of some detail work.. and the sounds I have yet to touch.
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 14046
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Draconisaurus »

Bryankd2015 wrote:The rest of the level is done.. outside of some detail work..
Am curious - how has your terrain editing coming?
Bryankd2015
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Bryankd2015 »

Terrain is all done.. I am however growing tired of trying to get everything on the ground and these damned dinos still aren't working. let me know if you wanna have a look to fix the small things and check on dino in the level.. because it is really getting to me.. also still have yet to set sounds in place.
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 14046
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Draconisaurus »

Wouldn't mind looking at your level.. :)
User avatar
TheIdiot
T-Rex
T-Rex
Posts: 4345
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Location: Canada, eh?

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by TheIdiot »

I am however growing tired of trying to get everything on the ground
Try hand-placing thousands of plants from scratch. You don't understand pain until you've done that. :P
User avatar
machf
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 12368
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Location: Lima, Peru
Contact:

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by machf »

Bryankd2015 wrote:I am however growing tired of trying to get everything on the ground
TresEd allows you to "drop" things to the ground level. I think it's with CTRL+D. You can select a whole bunch and then drop them.
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files
Bryankd2015
Gallimimus
Gallimimus
Posts: 581
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 7:10 am

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Bryankd2015 »

Sorry that doesn't work so well with hills.
User avatar
Draconisaurus
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
Posts: 14046
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Isla Sorna
Contact:

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by Draconisaurus »

Mmmm just in case it is unknown to any present:

TresEd movement keys: 1=x, 2=y, 3=z
TresEd rotation keys: 4=x, 5=y, 6=z

Hold the key simultaneous with left-click-drag to change the object's position/orientation. Hold Shift+Left-Click to do a random-rotate.

When placing a foliage obj such that it's not in a floating position... Start with Ctrl+D (handy when many objs are selected), then hold 3 while left-click-dragging until the lower edges of the mesh are all underground.
User avatar
tatu
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
Posts: 5088
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Antispam: No
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Plantation House Contest

Post by tatu »

As for hills. A tip to avoid going in the game all the time is to go into terrain editing mode instead, and see how the objects are located. You can also select the object first and then go into the terrain editing mode and move it (just be sure not to edit the terrain at the same time, so go into Vert mode or something).
Active project: Trespasser: Isla Sorna
Status:
BE-PH1: Released
PH2-IT: Pre-released
PL-SUM: In production

"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."
Post Reply