TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:20 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:03 pm 
Offline
Gallimimus
Gallimimus

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 732
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
There is a crashing issue you guys may want to be aware of. If you have a .swp in the DWI Trespasser directory of the original AS from before adding ASUM, the game will attempt to load this and crash because it looks at the swp, freaks out, and crashes. The solution is just to delete the old as.swp file from your installed Trespasser directory.

_________________
Image The Dark Eternal Champion is freaking awesome.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:07 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10102
Location: Lima, Peru
Good thing I renamed it to "ASUM" with GeomAdd before playing it...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Retail, Beta 96, PC Gamer Alpha and E3 1998 Alpha TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:20 am 
Offline
T-Rex Hunter
T-Rex Hunter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 9381
Location: Ruin Town
Interesting error.. Tatu you might want to re-release with machf's renamed files..

_________________
Image
T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:18 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2831
Location: Sweden
I have no plans on renaming the files. The point of this mod is to replace the original level files so they can be used instead of the old ones. Renaming it would make it impossible to go from LAB to ASUM, unless you demand people to edit LAB's end trigger themselves.

However, I will add to the readme that you need to delete the .swp file in the main directory if you don't use a stand-alone engine. Nice finding Glitch.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:15 pm 
Offline
Velociraptor
Velociraptor
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 1283
Location: Canada, eh?
Quote:
I have no plans on renaming the files. The point of this mod is to replace the original level files so they can be used instead of the old ones. Renaming it would make it impossible to go from LAB to ASUM, unless you demand people to edit LAB's end trigger themselves.

Hmm...I actually agree with the others, too. I think the files should be renamed for the sake of retaining the original files, as well as to prevent this SWP error. I understand that this is supposed to be continued on from LAB, but I think that replacing the original files should be prevented in any case because keeping the originals intact is important for us when trying to study or utilize them for other purposes. If you ever get around to doing a LAB-PV level, you could alter the end trigger to load up ASUM instead. :)

_________________
Image

Sometimes I wonder why I continue to mod a broken, unpopular game from 1998. Then I remember the hilarious arm physics, the wonky dinosaurs, and, of course, the first set of boobs I'd seen close up in first person.
Yeah, this certainly is the game for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:25 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2831
Location: Sweden
That is true. Making a PV-LAB level would also make the same issue.

In any case, anyone should be able to GeomAdd to rename the level themselves. And I would not really recommend keeping the original files in the TresCD/data folder anyway in case you are using TresEd, as TresEd loads them by default even if you load the level from another folder :P

I might rename it for the next release, we'll see.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 10:15 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:23 pm
Posts: 29
What's this supposed to be?


Attachments:
_20170422_121013.JPG
_20170422_121013.JPG [ 11.76 KiB | Viewed 28 times ]


Last edited by MinePass on Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 11:00 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2831
Location: Sweden
No idea. Possibly some fun play thing. It got a magnet, but I don't remember if I checked if it worked. You shoot it and it should spin, kinda like a crane. It is found in build 96 of the level.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:43 pm 
Offline
Gallimimus
Gallimimus

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 3:08 pm
Posts: 732
Location: Bloomington, IN, USA
I bumped into it and I don't recall it moving. Was this in the Basement of the build 96 level? I don't remember seeing it in either Ascent. Also, you should have utilized the unused ramp somewhere.

_________________
Image The Dark Eternal Champion is freaking awesome.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:08 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2831
Location: Sweden
It is there in b96 Ascent in that location. It doesn't work, even tho it got a magnet, but I will fix that later on.

What unused ramp are you referring to?

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:08 pm 
Offline
Dilophosaurus
Dilophosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 7:06 pm
Posts: 2082
glitchhunter09 wrote:
I bumped into it and I don't recall it moving. Was this in the Basement of the build 96 level? I don't remember seeing it in either Ascent. Also, you should have utilized the unused ramp somewhere.

It's in-game in Ascent 2 (build 96).

_________________
"We must all of us be conscious that we are creating the future. We will be remembered for this forever." - John Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 10:22 pm 
Offline
Parasaurus
Parasaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:23 pm
Posts: 29
tatu wrote:
What unused ramp are you referring to?


I think he's taking about the walkway segments that have railing but no physics in the basement.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 57 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group