TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:35 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 795 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 53  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:05 am 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
It was worth a shot. I'll try to add debug log output in some strategic places in an attempt to see where in/after the loading process it hangs. I'll post that soon if all goes well.

Regarding the brain activities. I had a look and decided I'll make them available through an ini option. That way it's not a problem if it's discovered that they have bugs or other issues.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:37 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Atlanta
machf wrote:
Slugger wrote:
Additionally, when the source code was first available I went digging through the code an reactivated most of the deactivated piece (i.e. those that were simply commented out). I believe my EXE's are the ones tatu is referring too, in that they were never release "publicly" like you've one in this thread.

Hey, Slugger, what do you say if we upload your test build for people to see what it looked like? It's also the one I was referring to...


Sure, go a head machf! Do you have them handy or shall I go back into my computer and grab them?

(I apologize if some of my words don't seem to fit, my 'd' button doesn't want to work sometimes.)

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:40 am 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
Here's the test build with additional debug output to the log file. If you could run that and post the log I'd really appreciate it.


I dug through my records and found why the loading screen hang sounded familiar to me. It had happened on Win XP SP2 before. That time it was solved by updating to SP3. I'll try to figure out why it isn't working if I can, with your feedback as help, but worst case scenario I'll have to document either running old DX or updating to SP3 as two workarounds.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 4:24 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Atlanta
Lee -- your fix solved everything on my end! I didn't even max everything out in the .ini and the game looked infinitely better! And it sounded much better too!

And hppav -- you are right, that water diffraction effect does look glorious! Wow. Thanks again Lee. Now I know what I'll be doing tomorrow night.

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:43 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10045
Location: Lima, Peru
Slugger wrote:
machf wrote:
Hey, Slugger, what do you say if we upload your test build for people to see what it looked like? It's also the one I was referring to...


Sure, go a head machf! Do you have them handy or shall I go back into my computer and grab them?

You know I always keep everything at hand... :wink:
That one is dated January 28th, 2012... let me look for it.
EDIT: found it after a couple of minutes, of course. But I also found another one dated January 29th, and I don't remember it... I don't have in my Trespasser retail install folder. Hmmm... I'll upload both anyway.

Lee Arbuco wrote:
Here's the test build with additional debug output to the log file. If you could run that and post the log I'd really appreciate it.

I dug through my records and found why the loading screen hang sounded familiar to me. It had happened on Win XP SP2 before. That time it was solved by updating to SP3. I'll try to figure out why it isn't working if I can, with your feedback as help, but worst case scenario I'll have to document either running old DX or updating to SP3 as two workarounds.

Thanks, I'll try that. Though since it's almost midnight here, maybe I won't post the results until tomorrow...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Retail, Beta 96, PC Gamer Alpha and E3 1998 Alpha TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:58 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10045
Location: Lima, Peru
OK, here's the log. Originally, it was over 80MB, but the last line simply gets repeated... A LOT.
I guess I'll try reinstalling the DirectX June 2010 again, just in case...

Code:
PID: 2872
CPU: arch=x86 , fam=586 , cpus=1
SIMD: SSE=2 , 3DNow=0
OS Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2
Desktop resolution: 1280 x 800
Virtual desktop resolution: 1280 x 800
-----------------------------------------------------------
CWD: D:\Archivos de programa\DreamWorks Interactive\Trespasser
-----------------------------------------------------------
Version: Trespasser CE 1.0.124
Target Processor: Intel Pentium Pro / Pentium II
---------------------- user options -----------------------
General::TryIncompleteInstall=False
Sound::NoSavegameSysSettings=True
Memory::SysMemSizeD3D=8192
Memory::MemSizeD3D=220
Memory::TexPoolSizeD3D=16384
Memory::MaxTerrainMem=20000
Memory::MaxTerrainDynaShadowMem=12000
Memory::ExtraTerrainNodes=10
Display::ScreenBitDepth=32
Display::MaxFramerate=61
DisplayDX9::UseDX9=True
DisplayDX9::ScaleModeMenus=2
DisplayDX9::WaterRefraction=False
DisplayDX9::ATOCMode=1
Render::CacheMinDist=60.0
Render::MinCullDistance=50.0
Render::MinCullDistanceShadow=20.0
Render::ObjectCullDistScale=5.0
Render::ObjectCullDistScaleShadow=1.25
Render::CachedObjectCullDistScale=8.0
Render::MinObjectCullDist=100.0
Render::MinObjectCullDistShadow=20.0
Render::MinCachedObjectCullDist=500.0
Render::MinTerrainNodeEvalDist=35
Render::ForceMaxObjectDetail=True
Render::32bitHardwareTextures=True
Render::TexFilterD3D=8
Render::ForceNoBlendTrans=True
MaxQualityParams::MinSubdivison=8
MaxQualityParams::AltMinSubdivision=16
MaxQualityParams::DetailReductionScale=8.0
MaxQualityParams::CullDistScale=5.0
MaxQualityParams::CullShadowDistScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::WaterResScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::TerrainTexelScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::TerrainDistanceScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::PixelTolAdj=0.25
MaxQualityParams::ResolutionScale=2.0
Sound::MixerFrequency=44100
SoundOpenAL::UseAL=False

Installed Directory=D:\Archivos de programa\DreamWorks Interactive\Trespasser\
Data Drive=E:\TresCD\
Installed=1
Registry Init=1
Auto Settings=1

Video GUID=00000000-0000-0000-0000-00000000
D3D GUID=84E63DE0-46AA-11CF-816F-0000C020
Use D3D=1
Width=1280
Height=720
XView=0
YView=0
Dither=0
Max Recommended Tex Dim=256
Triple Buffer=1
Video Driver=Controlador de pantalla primaria (display)
Hardware Water=1

PlaySFX=-1
PlayAmbient=-1
PlayVoiceOver=-1
PlayMusic=0
UseSubTitles=-1
AudioEnable3D=-1

RenderQuality=4
Gamma=0
Gore=2
SwapSpaceMb=100
-----------------------------------------------------------
** Enumerating D3D9 Adapters (1)...
Adapter 0
   device name: \\.\DISPLAY1
   driver     : ati2dvag.dll
   descr      : ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series
   driver ver : 0x0006000E-000A19C9
   vendor id  : 0x00001002
   device id  : 0x00005A62
   subsys id  : 0x01091025
   device guid: D7B71EE2-1922-11CF-5C6A-0321A1C2
   desktop res: 1280 x 800
   non-POT tex: limited support
   Modes
      640 x 480 x 32
      800 x 480 x 32
      800 x 600 x 32
      1024 x 480 x 32
      1024 x 600 x 32
      1280 x 600 x 32
      1280 x 720 x 32
** Enumerating D3D9 Adapters Done

Selected D3D9 Adapter 0 (ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series)

CreateDevice: res = D3D_OK ; 1280x720 fmt=22 zfmt=75 cnt=1 ms=0 swap=1 fs=1 hz=0 pres=1 flags=2
Enumerating supported display modes...
   640 x 480 x 32
   800 x 480 x 32
   800 x 600 x 32
   1024 x 480 x 32
   1024 x 600 x 32
   1280 x 600 x 32
   1280 x 720 x 32

** RenderShell CreateScreen(640 x 480 x 32, vram 1)...
Main screen created (640 x 480 x 32, fs 1, vram 1)
Creating renderer (32-bit screen)
** RenderShell CreateScreen Done.

** RenderShell CreateScreen(1280 x 720 x 32, vram 1)...
Main screen created (1280 x 720 x 32, fs 1, vram 1)
Creating renderer (32-bit screen)
** RenderShell CreateScreen Done.

DEBUG: d3d Restore 1
DEBUG: d3d Restore 2
DEBUG: d3d Restore 3
DEBUG: d3d Restore 4
DEBUG: d3d Restore 5
DEBUG: d3d Restore 6
DEBUG: load notify 6 (0, 0)
DEBUG: load notify 0 (0, 0)
DEBUG: load notify 2 (99, 0)
DEBUG: load notify 1 (91, 100)
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: loading subsystem
DEBUG: load notify 1 (92, 100)
DEBUG: load notify 1 (95, 100)
DEBUG: d3d Restore 1
DEBUG: d3d Restore 2
DEBUG: load notify 4 (0, 0)
DEBUG: d3d Restore 3
DEBUG: d3d Restore 4
DEBUG: d3d Restore 5
DEBUG: load notify 5 (0, 0)
DEBUG: load notify 5 (0, 0)
DEBUG: load notify 5 (0, 0)
DEBUG: load notify 5 (0, 0)
DEBUG: d3d Restore 6
DEBUG: loadscene 1
DEBUG: loadscene 2
DEBUG: loadscene done 1
Direct3D9 Error: D3DERR_INVALIDCALL

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Retail, Beta 96, PC Gamer Alpha and E3 1998 Alpha TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:41 am 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks for trying that. If the DX install doesn't help, the above log is still great news. Now I can make a test build that forces a crash.dmp when that D3D error occurs. That way I should see exactly which call fails.

Edit: Looking up some info about your card, I noticed there's at least one model with 128 MB memory. Maybe the game is running out of video memory, since after loading is done it will start creating the texture caches. The default trespasser.ini is set to 220 MB video memory available. In case your card is a 128 MB (or less) card, you could try changing the "MemSizeD3D" option in trespasser.ini from 220 to for example 80 and see if that makes any difference. Another trespasser.ini option to try is to enable ForceManagedMemD3D. It might side-step the problem of running out of memory, if that's what happening.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:10 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Atlanta
machf wrote:
Slugger wrote:
machf wrote:
Hey, Slugger, what do you say if we upload your test build for people to see what it looked like? It's also the one I was referring to...


Sure, go a head machf! Do you have them handy or shall I go back into my computer and grab them?

You know I always keep everything at hand... :wink:
That one is dated January 28th, 2012... let me look for it.
EDIT: found it after a couple of minutes, of course. But I also found another one dated January 29th, and I don't remember it... I don't have in my Trespasser retail install folder. Hmmm... I'll upload both anyway.


I have a listing too of what is enabled within each version; I'll post that when I get back to my place later tonight.

This water diffraction effect -- that's not native Tres code, right?* That's an effect imposed by DX? Just exactly how does it know to render the water objects with diffraction?

(* Wow, asking that makes me realize I've been away from here for far too long. :( I still can't get over that fraking effect, I kept staring at it last night. It's like one of the most beautiful things I've ever seen in a game before...and from Tres! Insane.)

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:39 pm 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
No it's not native code in TP. It's a very common effect in games, since around Half-Life 2 (which has much nicer looking water). I think every single game has it nowadays. It's nothing special. It involves making a copy of the frame buffer to a texture, generating a special water texture for refraction amounts etc., and then a pixel shader to render the water polygons.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 7:56 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4653
Location: Atlanta
Lee Arbuco wrote:
No it's not native code in TP. It's a very common effect in games, since around Half-Life 2 (which has much nicer looking water). I think every single game has it nowadays. It's nothing special. It involves making a copy of the frame buffer to a texture, generating a special water texture for refraction amounts etc., and then a pixel shader to render the water polygons.


Yeah, HL2's standing water is very nicely done, but the splash effects get old quickly (since it's the same effect). I've always liked the dynamic ripples generated by Tres's water, and the diffraction really seems to enhance like a 3D effect and make the ripples look more like...well...ripples with depth, instead of simply generated on top of a flat object.

I guess my question was more directly asking how does DX know when to apply water in Tres, since Tres was never intended to run with modern DX codes.

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:11 pm 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
If you look at the D3D render functions in tres you'll see there's a big switch statement for different polygon types, one is for water (ehwWater or something like that). So I had a clean point where I could hook in the enhanced DX9 water rendering.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:27 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10045
Location: Lima, Peru
Lee Arbuco wrote:
Thanks for trying that. If the DX install doesn't help, the above log is still great news. Now I can make a test build that forces a crash.dmp when that D3D error occurs. That way I should see exactly which call fails.

Edit: Looking up some info about your card, I noticed there's at least one model with 128 MB memory. Maybe the game is running out of video memory, since after loading is done it will start creating the texture caches. The default trespasser.ini is set to 220 MB video memory available. In case your card is a 128 MB (or less) card, you could try changing the "MemSizeD3D" option in trespasser.ini from 220 to for example 80 and see if that makes any difference. Another trespasser.ini option to try is to enable ForceManagedMemD3D. It might side-step the problem of running out of memory, if that's what happening.

Unfortunately, neither option seems to have had any effect. Yep, even after reinstalling DX9.
I'll try it later on a different computer...

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Retail, Beta 96, PC Gamer Alpha and E3 1998 Alpha TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:34 pm 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
Ok. I'm attaching a new test build that invokes a crash on the D3D error, in case you have time to try that. The resulting crash.dmp would tell me which D3D call fails.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:45 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10045
Location: Lima, Peru
OK, now didn't have to hit CTRL+ALT+DEL, it crashed. Very quickly.
Code:
PID: 3228
CPU: arch=x86 , fam=586 , cpus=1
SIMD: SSE=2 , 3DNow=0
OS Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2
Desktop resolution: 1280 x 800
Virtual desktop resolution: 1280 x 800
-----------------------------------------------------------
CWD: D:\Archivos de programa\DreamWorks Interactive\Trespasser
-----------------------------------------------------------
Version: Trespasser CE 1.0.124
Target Processor: Intel Pentium Pro / Pentium II
---------------------- user options -----------------------
General::TryIncompleteInstall=False
Sound::NoSavegameSysSettings=True
Memory::SysMemSizeD3D=8192
Memory::MemSizeD3D=80
Memory::TexPoolSizeD3D=16384
Memory::MaxTerrainMem=20000
Memory::MaxTerrainDynaShadowMem=12000
Memory::ExtraTerrainNodes=10
Display::ScreenBitDepth=32
Display::MaxFramerate=61
DisplayDX9::UseDX9=True
DisplayDX9::EnableVSync=False
DisplayDX9::WaterRefraction=False
Render::CacheMinDist=60.0
Render::MinCullDistance=50.0
Render::MinCullDistanceShadow=20.0
Render::ObjectCullDistScale=5.0
Render::ObjectCullDistScaleShadow=1.25
Render::CachedObjectCullDistScale=8.0
Render::MinObjectCullDist=100.0
Render::MinObjectCullDistShadow=20.0
Render::MinCachedObjectCullDist=500.0
Render::MinTerrainNodeEvalDist=35
Render::ForceMaxObjectDetail=True
Render::32bitHardwareTextures=True
Render::TexFilterD3D=8
Render::ForceNoBlendTrans=False
MaxQualityParams::MinSubdivison=8
MaxQualityParams::AltMinSubdivision=16
MaxQualityParams::DetailReductionScale=8.0
MaxQualityParams::CullDistScale=5.0
MaxQualityParams::CullShadowDistScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::WaterResScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::TerrainTexelScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::TerrainDistanceScale=3.0
MaxQualityParams::PixelTolAdj=0.25
MaxQualityParams::ResolutionScale=2.0
Sound::MixerFrequency=44100
SoundOpenAL::UseAL=False

Installed Directory=D:\Archivos de programa\DreamWorks Interactive\Trespasser\
Data Drive=E:\TresCD\
Installed=1
Registry Init=1
Auto Settings=1

Video GUID=00000000-0000-0000-0000-00000000
D3D GUID=84E63DE0-46AA-11CF-816F-0000C020
Use D3D=1
Width=1280
Height=720
XView=0
YView=0
Dither=0
Max Recommended Tex Dim=256
Triple Buffer=1
Video Driver=Controlador de pantalla primaria (display)
Hardware Water=1

PlaySFX=-1
PlayAmbient=-1
PlayVoiceOver=-1
PlayMusic=0
UseSubTitles=-1
AudioEnable3D=-1

RenderQuality=4
Gamma=0
Gore=2
SwapSpaceMb=100
-----------------------------------------------------------
** Enumerating D3D9 Adapters (1)...
Adapter 0
   device name: \\.\DISPLAY1
   driver     : ati2dvag.dll
   descr      : ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series
   driver ver : 0x0006000E-000A19C9
   vendor id  : 0x00001002
   device id  : 0x00005A62
   subsys id  : 0x01091025
   device guid: D7B71EE2-1922-11CF-5C6A-0321A1C2
   desktop res: 1280 x 800
   non-POT tex: limited support
   Modes
      640 x 480 x 32
      800 x 480 x 32
      800 x 600 x 32
      1024 x 480 x 32
      1024 x 600 x 32
      1280 x 600 x 32
      1280 x 720 x 32
** Enumerating D3D9 Adapters Done

Selected D3D9 Adapter 0 (ATI RADEON XPRESS 200M Series)

CreateDevice: res = D3D_OK ; 1280x720 fmt=22 zfmt=75 cnt=1 ms=0 swap=1 fs=1 hz=0 pres=-2147483648 flags=2
Enumerating supported display modes...
   640 x 480 x 32
   800 x 480 x 32
   800 x 600 x 32
   1024 x 480 x 32
   1024 x 600 x 32
   1280 x 600 x 32
   1280 x 720 x 32

** RenderShell CreateScreen(640 x 480 x 32, vram 1)...
Main screen created (640 x 480 x 32, fs 1, vram 1)
Creating renderer (32-bit screen)
** RenderShell CreateScreen Done.

** RenderShell CreateScreen(1280 x 720 x 32, vram 1)...
Main screen created (1280 x 720 x 32, fs 1, vram 1)
Creating renderer (32-bit screen)
** RenderShell CreateScreen Done.

DX9 ERROR: D3DERR_INVALIDCALL


Attachments:
crash.zip [9.11 KiB]
Downloaded 30 times

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Retail, Beta 96, PC Gamer Alpha and E3 1998 Alpha TPA files
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:50 pm 
Offline
Brachiosaurus
Brachiosaurus

Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 7:09 pm
Posts: 217
Great, thanks. I can see where it crashed. Now I have to see if I can make any sense of it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 795 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 53  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group