TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Tue Aug 22, 2017 2:42 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Fri Aug 04, 2017 11:57 am 
Offline
Velociraptor v2.1
Velociraptor v2.1
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 1514
Location: Canada, eh?
I don't remember if someone has brought this up in the past, but the 4GB Large Address Awareness patch works on Tres CE! What it does is change the amount of RAM availabe for Trespasser from 2GB to 4GB using a flag in the EXE itself. This generally can result in better performance and more stability. I've been using it ever since CE came out, and, if I remember correctly, also had it applied to ATX, where it also helped quite a bit. I recommend everyone use this file, provided you have 4GB of memory on your system. If you don't, you might experience some major stability errors, or crashing.

To install:
Download the file from the bottom of this page:

http://www.ntcore.com/4gb_patch.php

When you run the EXE file, it will bring up File Explorer. Navigate your way to your Trespasser installation folder, and select your Trespasser .exe file (usually tpassp6.exe). Double click on the EXE and wait a second. The patch program should say that the file was patched successfully, and will bring up a window which asks if you want to exit or patch another file. You can use this patch on any program as far as I know, to varying effectiveness.

And that's it! It definitely helped with Trespasser on my system with 8GB of ram, so I recommend at least trying it out (making a backup of your EXE, just in case) and posting your results here.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | TheIdiot's release thread | Trespasser HD: Beach


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:11 am 
Offline
Triceratops
Triceratops

Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 1:10 am
Posts: 77
Thank you, I wasn't aware this worked with Trespasser CE. It seems to improve a lot of things actually, some subtle, some not. It seems that even the AI behaves much more functionally, though it's always hard to tell with that. Nearly two decades since Trespasser was released and it's still all chugging along.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10307
Location: Lima, Peru
What happens if you run a patched file under x86 instead of x64?

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:05 am 
Offline
Velociraptor v2.1
Velociraptor v2.1
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 1514
Location: Canada, eh?
machf wrote:
What happens if you run a patched file under x86 instead of x64?

That's a good question. I think it should detect that there isn't enough RAM to use the full 4GB and not cause any errors, as it only makes the program use the extra memory if it's available. To be on the safe side, I'd say don't patch it unless you're on a 64-bit system with a minimum of 4GB of RAM.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | TheIdiot's release thread | Trespasser HD: Beach


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 11:42 am 
Offline
T-Rex Hunter
T-Rex Hunter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 9704
Location: Portland, OR
Ah... My toppy only has 2 GB of RAM. Solves my dilemma quite easily..

_________________
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 12:23 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2941
Location: Somewhere in the Plains.
TheIdiot wrote:
machf wrote:
What happens if you run a patched file under x86 instead of x64?

That's a good question. I think it should detect that there isn't enough RAM to use the full 4GB and not cause any errors, as it only makes the program use the extra memory if it's available. To be on the safe side, I'd say don't patch it unless you're on a 64-bit system with a minimum of 4GB of RAM.


Well, the site explain this pretty well:

"This very little tool patches x86 executables in order to let them have 4GB (instead of only 2) of virtual memory on x64 platforms. This tool comes very handy for applications which need a great amount of virtual memory like games, 3D renderization, multimedia etc. To gain these 2GB, you just have to use this tool to patch the executable (*.exe file) of the software you want to have these additional GBs of virtual memory. It can be used by clicking on it and choosing the file or through command line (e.g.: "4gb_patch file.exe"). It automatically creates a backup copy of the original executable.

Why things are this way on x64 is easy to explain. On x86 applications have 2GB of virtual memory out of 4GB (the other 2GB are reserved for the system). On x64 these two other GB can now be accessed by 32bit applications. In order to achieve this, a flag has to be set in the file's internal format. This is, of course, very easy for insiders who do it every day with the CFF Explorer. This tool was written because not everybody is an insider, and most probably a lot of people don't even know that this can be achieved. Even I wouldn't have written this tool if someone didn't explicitly ask me to."

So yeah, it has no really use on 32-bit system AFAIK, as those can't access more than 2gb of ram anyway.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:18 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 6:52 pm
Posts: 4678
Location: Atlanta
Could this patch just be rolled into TresCE (without having to separately patch it)?

_________________
0066521C: 'Cannot create local swap file - Is Trespasser installed??',0Ah,0
"Cold lino was the driving force behind world power!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 11:50 am 
Offline
T-Rex Hunter
T-Rex Hunter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 5:21 pm
Posts: 9704
Location: Portland, OR
Better leave it as an option in case some don't with to have it..

_________________
Click on Image
(Click on thumbnail for full size)
Image

T-Script Reference / Trespasser Twilight / JP Dark Secrets / Tres File Box

Image Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 3:39 pm 
Offline
T-Rex Killer
T-Rex Killer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 11:20 pm
Posts: 10307
Location: Lima, Peru
Slugger wrote:
Could this patch just be rolled into TresCE (without having to separately patch it)?

From what I understand, it's just a flag set in some byte of the header... I don't really think it's necessary.

_________________
Visit The Carnivores Saga - a forum devoted to modding Action Forms' Carnivores, Carnivores 2 and Carnivores: Ice Age games
Tres WIP: updated T-Script Reference and File Formats documents
Sound name listings for the Demo (build 117), Retail (build 116), Beta 103, Beta 99, Beta 97, Beta 96, Build 55, PC Gamer Alpha (build 32) and E3 1998 Alpha (build 22) TPA files


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 4 Gigabyte LAA Patch
PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:36 pm 
Offline
Velociraptor v2.1
Velociraptor v2.1
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:13 pm
Posts: 1514
Location: Canada, eh?
machf wrote:
Slugger wrote:
Could this patch just be rolled into TresCE (without having to separately patch it)?

From what I understand, it's just a flag set in some byte of the header... I don't really think it's necessary.

That's correct. It's a very, very simple patch that doesn't do anything else of significance other than tell the program it can use more memory. There isn't really a reason not to use this patch, even if you're running on a 2GB or less system, since the flag simply tells the program that it MAY use more memory, if available. You won't have the program trying to use more memory than available as it will still cap out before it can do so.

tatu's quote and post up above sums it up perfectly.

_________________
Image

My currently active projects:
Return to Jurassic Park: A Trespasser Mod - Forum or ModDB | TheIdiot's release thread | Trespasser HD: Beach


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Madame Anna Of Yahoo and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group