TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:12 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2003 1:22 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
I planned them to be imported as terrain objects, but I might need to scale the texture up or down to match the pixel size of the other ground textures. Can do that after you have it positioned on the final location.

By the way, have you ever tried importing terrain objects with multiple textures? I assume it works. I used two textures on the floor, one for the concrete and one with the rusty rail to support the doors...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2003 8:30 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Nope, never had need to try, but I'd assume that it'd work. I'm
not sure what you mean by scaling the textures up or down. I
just assumed that if your terrain object looked proper at present
scale of the hanger model, rescaling the models after import
shouldn't matter. Of course, I'm not the model and/or texture
master here, that's your department. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 7:35 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
Ok, finally. Here's the hangar model:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/hangar_v1.zip

Chopped up model in several parts to keep the polycount per model down. Doors are movable, floor is seperate object. Textures share a single palette. :)

Didn't create occlusion objects, since the structure is pretty much open. Also, doors can move, hole in roof etc. I can make some simple ones later to put inside the walls, we're gonna have some detailed models in the area but until we've determined the exact locations I can't really say where we need these occlusion objects.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 8:43 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Hey, Great! Although, the zip file won't open. (says something
about an invalid archive)

:|


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 9:06 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
Happens somtimes with FTP. :? Not the most reliable protocol around...

Removed and replaced the file should work now. :)

* Tried it, works for me...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 23, 2003 10:13 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Yup, got it this time, buddy. Seems the previous zip was short a
few kbs.

:)

*Rem, when I ported this all of the interior walls were missing.
From the outside, looks intact, but there aren't any textures in-
side except on moveable doors. You may have to give it a look
from inside of TresEd yourself to see what I'm referring to.

Otherwise, I like the design.... looks really good.

http://www.trespasserextras.com/hanger.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:40 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
I probably mirrored the model in MAX while modeling it. Shows up correct in MAX but I'll mirror it again, export and it should work.

Andres, would it be hard to add something like a "flip mesh faces" function in TresEd? This is actually a problem with external tools but if you think it is easy to implement then this might be a handy little tool.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 5:51 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
Hmm, strange. The model wasn't flipped in MAX (scale shows up negative if it is) at all. The .3ds export plugin messes up sometimes, so here's another version of it:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/hangar_v2.3ds

Maybe negative scale might also fix it Rebel.

Hmm, Andres maybe flip poly function might not be necessary if the scale was negative, tho maybe you can prevent negative scales on import?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 7:09 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
lol

Now I've got interior walls, but exteriors. I don't know why I'm
laughing.... guess 'cause I'm tired. :?

Here's a very weird thing: the recorded location of the hanger-
interior model as reported by TresED.

position: <1578217749773857000000000000000.0, 7555780855681888800000.0, -1926725525010815200000000.0>
rotation: <0.00, 0.00, 0.00>
scale: 1578223492171500200000000000000.00

*I copied one mesh which shows just exterior, copied the other
mesh which showed the interior, put them together to make up
the complete hanger. So, so results.... add another problem on
to this headache, I partition save, you can't see the models in-
game. No hanger, no doors... nada thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:32 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
Weird stuff... So is the object also at those coordinates/scale or do you think they its displayed improperly?

Pretty late here now. Will check it out tomorrow, no school. :) Think that if I'd re-import the objects into MAX I'll be able to figure out what the prob is.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 9:39 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
If you 'select' that object and use 'jump to object' that's where
you're teleported to; those ridiculous coordinates. I can click if
in scale a half mile away from where the hanger visually appears
in TresEd and it'll say that I've selected hang_dr4....

I realize that it's getting late.... no prob. I'll sure we'll get it
straight, just another one of those interesting adventures that
we seem to have around here. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 24, 2003 11:49 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Rem, I zipped up a tpm file for you (it'll import inside crater). Btw,
change your opacity maps to 8bit, they're 24bit.

MOdel is together like this, looks right, but we have two sections
here; interior at 2913verts 911faces, exterior 2193, 721faces. I'm
confused, of course.. .. but it seems to me that this model needs
to actually stay as it is. The exterior model is showing the roof n'
walls while the interior model has all of the irons works. Maybe it
needs to stay as it is; can't put the two models together, then it'd
(the vert/face count) would be too high.

http://www.trespasserextras.com/CHanger.ZIP

(tpm old format, new format kept crashing geomadd so I switch-
ed to an earlier version, Feb. 03, I think). It's not at proper scale
yet, just figured I'd upload the file as a safety precaution. (hard-
drive isn't sounding too good <gulps>)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 9:27 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 12:35 pm
Posts: 1845
Location: Holland, Europe
I've uploaded a new version of the model:

http://home.planet.nl/~buijs512/trescom/hangar_v3.zip

If this one doesn't work then I'm outta options. You'll notice I've included several .3ds files, should be all the same but the export plugin screws up randomly (messed up normals and/or flipped faces), think at least one should work.

Yep, discussed 24-bit/8-bit opacity map thing with Andres, he changed that but I forgot. :?

Strange polycount you got there. Should around ~1900 all models together, 'biggest' model has ~700 faces.

Do you have an account on mpp's diehard server? I can give you my password if you'd like to backup some stuff online. :)

* PS, I noticed my connection is still doing crappy stuff, might not be able to read/post other stuff today. Hope it'll get fixed soon... :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 10:07 am 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4844
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Yeah, goofy stuff.

Gotta split for work, so I'll check the 3ds files out later. Hell, one
of those must work! :lol:

The version labeled 3.3.3 imported with both the interior and ex-
terior intact. Pretty much the same as I had it with the mish mash
of the two 3ds files, but I'll use this one just the same.


*Think I do have a diehard account, but I don't recall the details
or password. Not that important, really. Whatever files I don't
already have on my server, I generally have burned to disk --


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2003 9:42 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-

Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 8:35 pm
Posts: 113
I'm out today, but I'll take a look at it later if I get a chance. Remdul, can you use our .TPM export MAXScript on that model? Should work, and if it's zipped up the download shouldn't be too much bigger.

It's possible the 3DS library I'm using has some bugs in it, or just doesn't work with some 3DS files (given that Discreet never published the file format for the files).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 66 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group