TresCom Forums

TresCom : The Trespasser Fan Gateway...
It is currently Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 2:33 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:24 pm
Posts: 7
Hey guys, first post.

I already read through some of the previous posts on SOUND and was glad to see it was a relatively easy fix. However, I also noticed you had to get a patch and the link kept directing me to Geocities, which no longer exists.

So my question is, I'm running Windows 2000 on a Dell Dimension desktop, nothing crazy as far as graphics, it was my college computer and I have no choice since I've bought only Macs since then. I really would love to play the game again, with sound of course, Hammond's narration is the best part to me. Also, gotta know how much ammo I have, ya feel me?!

Secondly, not sure if the driver is just too quick, but regardless of what "quality" setting I've chosen for video in the main menu, the cut scene of "my name is John Parker Hammond etc etc" starts flying by once the DreamWorks logo comes up and all I hear is chipmunk like sounds. It's probably over in less than 5 seconds flat.

ANY help would be MUCH appreciated as I really do feel the love for this groundbreaking game. I'll defend it to the death!

- Ian


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 3:46 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Developer=-
-=TresCom Developer=-
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 10:26 pm
Posts: 4721
Location: That country nobody likes (you know the one)
Welcome. The patch you're looking for is the atx_patch. Go to the main page, under patches. It's the first listing. Near the bottom of Big Red's page, you'll see the download link for the latest patch (version 2.13, I think). It's fairly easy to install, but don't hesitate to post up if you run into problems. After install, you'll need to go into the config. File and disable the dll file that causes the problem. Its detailed in the readme file that accompanies the patch.

_________________
Reb's Web Sml collection of programs and simple games.

temp page Tres related programs and/or code.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 2:36 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:24 pm
Posts: 7
Now my computer is saying that Trespasser has encountered a problem and needed to close. Asks me to if I want to send an error report. I can't even get to the installation page without it closing on me automatically. Any thoughts or suggestions there?

Again, running a 2003-2004 Dell Dimension desktop with a Pentium 4 and Windows XP.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 5:35 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2955
Location: Somewhere in the Plains.
Run the setup95.exe in the setup folder can make you pass the crash.


As for the ATX patch. You need both 213.zip and trespassATX2.zip from the ATX patch site.

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 8:49 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:24 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks, will try that next.

I have an older Dell Dimension 4500 that I can get to run it, and I successfully ran the ATX patch, I think I just need to download the Direct X because it's still zipping through the cutscenes and I also still have no sound.

I'm not quite sure how I "turn off" a .dll I've seen the filetypes but I'm not sure which one would be associated with the sound, nor do I know how to turn it off once I do find it.

On my newer Dell, I can't even install the game because after the CD-ROM starts running it crashes instantly. That computer is faster and I'd preferably run it on that one, but again, I can't even install the game before it crashes on me. Is the setup95.exe somewhere I can get to before I install it?

Thanks for all the help thus far, it is pretty frustrating not being able to run the game.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 7:09 pm 
Offline
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
-=TresCom Website Manager=-
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:40 pm
Posts: 2955
Location: Somewhere in the Plains.
setup95.exe is located in the TresCd drive/Setup folder. Most of the time it works to run the setup through that since the autorun one crash. Just run the setup95 :)

_________________
"...there used to be more benches, but InGen's workers removed them during the evacuation in the name of framerate."


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:33 pm 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:24 pm
Posts: 7
I did try that, but once the CD started running, it would crash on me during installation.

So, at this point, I've gotten to the main screen from setup95.exe which is a step forward. I can see the big footprint and the skull in it with the options of Install, Uninstall, and Play, etc. The sound works in this menu. However, when I hit "install" the whole thing crashes and I get the same stupid error message that "trespasser encountered and problem and needed to close". I also tried running it with Windows 98 compatibility and it didn't work either.

Now as for my other CPU tower that I keep switching back to, I can play the game just fine, but it still has no sound nor were the quick cut scenes fixed. I downloaded both the ATX.exe patch and the 213.zip. I copied them into the same Trespasser folder with all the other files. I did achieve better resolution, but the sound still did not work and again, the cut scenes (which I find entertaining and part of the fun of the game) do not work. It simply scrolls through them without any sound.

So, I'm still stuck. Much appreciate the guidance thus far.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 8:40 pm 
Offline
Dilophosaurus
Dilophosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 7:06 pm
Posts: 2104
Have you tried copying the contents of the cd to your hard-drive and install from there? If you try this, it's important to remove the cd from your drive after copying its contents.

_________________
"We must all of us be conscious that we are creating the future. We will be remembered for this forever." - John Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 4:38 am 
Offline
Dinosaur egg
Dinosaur egg

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 2:24 pm
Posts: 7
Figured it out, I was stumped but I was able to get to the setup95.exe by right clicking and pressing open. I just assumed that it would open the CD and try to run the game and not show me the folders. Once I had that, it was a piece of cake. Thanks again for all the help guys, totally enjoying listening to John Parker Hammond haha


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 6:17 am 
Offline
Dilophosaurus
Dilophosaurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 7:06 pm
Posts: 2104
Have fun 8)

_________________
"We must all of us be conscious that we are creating the future. We will be remembered for this forever." - John Hammond


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group